American Skid Marks
Setting out on a great American motorcycle roadtrip.

I’m Out Bitches!

That’s it. Times up. Just yesterday I said, “Hey wouldn’t it be cool if …”. And now here I am, riding a motorcycle accross the US for the next four months. And just like it feels as though I started planning this only yesterday, I know that it will be over tomorrow. I’m focusing my attention throughout the day on being present; experiencing every sight and smell, every new vista and sweeping view, every aching muscle and every tired night. I’m present for the feel of those long cambered mountain turns, where your ass sinks into the seat and the bike leans into the most perfect arc. I’m focusing on the feeling of the wind in my face when I open my visor and the sting of the inevitable gnat that gets caught in my eye when I leave it open too long.

The first day out was a long one. Seattle to Faragut State Park in Idaho via highway 2.

Once I hit Monroe, WA the giddiness set in. The knowledge that I was finally taking off on this adventure really began to sink into my bones. Even when I hit rain in Gold Bar and even when that rain turned to snow over Stevens Pass I couldn’t get the feeling of elation to settle down. Highway 2 past the pass was beautiful, the swollen whitewater to my right and the high rock walls to my left peaked out from behind tall green evergreens. I remembered why this was one of my favorite rides in Washington.

Stevens Pass

Snowy and cold over the pass

Road to Leavenworth

The road to Leavenworth

Pam and her son Jack followed me as far a Leavenworth; my own personal safety crew, making sure that there wasn’t anything disasterously wrong with my bike … or with me. Following lunch we parted ways. I will miss her and all of my friends in Washigton.

Pam's Car on Road

My Support Crew

The road flattens as you leave Leavenworth and gradually is worn down into the rolling hills of Washington’s farm country. This stretch was surprisingly lovely for me, the immense fields of green grass set against stacks of tall white storm clouds made me think of the midwest plains that I will be rolling through soon enough. In the distance I saw rain falling in patches; gradually, those patches moved closer and closer until I was caught in the first of what will undoubtedly be many rain storms to come.

East Washington Skies

East Washington Skies

Before heading to Spokane I took a detour to see the Coulee Dam. It’s a big dam, but otherwise entirely unimpressive. I’ve heard there is a laser show from time to time there, but I could not tarry long enough to find out for myself. Tarry! I did manage to chat with a welder named Owen and snap a few photos of his handywork.

Metal Sculptures

Grand Coulee Dam

Grand Coulee Dam

It got cold. From about 50 miles outside of Spokane to Faragut State Park the temperature fell continually. A couple degrees colder every hour until I was riding in the 40 degree range. By the time I got to the campground, I was wet, cold and beat.

Welcome to Idho Sign

Stateline ...

Thanks to Mark and his family for the hospitality. Mark was waiting with a shot of Tuaca and a beer when I finally rolled in. Mark and the males from his clan hold an anual camping trip called … um … “The Annual”. They fed me, helped me set up my tent and warmed me up by the fire. The night was shaping up to be a great one until I crawled into my tent and discovered that in my rush to get going I had forgotten my sleeping bag at Pam’s. Everyone was asleep and so I ended up puting on every piece of cold weather clothing I had with me, wraping my head in a scarf and covering up with my motorcycle jacket. I slept in a fetal ball all night trying to keep warm. I was not warm, and I did not really sleep.

Hopefully Sunday night will be better.

4 Responses to “I’m Out Bitches!”

  1. Wow, Rabbit. I can’t believe you’re really doing it. Wow. I’ll look forward to every update. Great post today.

  2. Fantastic, hope you enjoy it, we are all envious 🙂

  3. This sounds totally awesome. Even more awesome than this excellent sleeping bag I found at Pam’s on Saturday. It’s like sleeping in the womb again! You should really stop by REI and pick one of these babies up…


Leave a Reply

