American Skid Marks
Setting out on a great American motorcycle roadtrip.

Bum Fuck Kansas to Kansas City

Kansas has it’s charms, yes; however, after miles and miles of rolling plains I was ready for some civilization. Sadly, there is nothing much to say about Eastern Kansas that my previous post does not capture. Its more rolling plains, more fields of crops stretching out forever and more dust and heat on the road.

Kansas Plains

Kansas Plains ... Now With Flowers!

Poor Kansas, their trying so hard to seem interesting. It is telling though, that the highlight for me today was the worlds largest ball of twine.

World's Largest Ball of Twine

World's Largest Ball of Twine

The trek was long and meditative; I had plenty of time in my helmet to just be inside my head. You know what? I spend most of my time thinking about absolute shit. Man do I burn allot of brain sugar on nothing. I have imaginary conversations with friends. The last song that I heard before I got rolling typically loops itself over and over in my head; and not the whole song, just the most catchy hook … over … and over … and over. I think about places I’ve been before and people I’ve met. I realized today how little time I’m actually spending being in the moment. I guess that’s why I made a point of trying to be present on this trip; if it came naturally, I wouldn’t have to think about it.

I arrived in KC late, too late to sight see. I committed to eating nothing but barbecue in KC and so tonight I went to a fancy sit down place. Ribs are not fancy. They are meant to be eaten, eatery style over red and white plastic tablecloths. I’m pretty confident that ribs don’t need to be legitimized with cloth napkins and candlelight. The food tonight at Fiorella’s Jack Stack was good, but not great.

So there it is. Leg #1 is complete. By one form of reckoning, I’m a sixth of the way through this thing. I still have a ways to go, but I’m officially in it now.

Tomorrow, I’ll spend part of the day sight seeing in KC before I head out to St. Louis.

3 Responses to “Bum Fuck Kansas to Kansas City”

  1. Thank you for writing this đŸ™‚

  2. What’s up friends, its impressive post on the topic of cultureand completely defined, keep it up all the time.

  3. LMAO Yep. I lived here 14 years. Sadly it is a 14 years I will never get back. If you think they are trying to be interesting though rusty me, they’re not. They just like keeping people brainwashed so the stupidest little things can keep people occupied so people don’t start to develop a fully functioning brain.


Leave a Reply

