American Skid Marks
Setting out on a great American motorcycle roadtrip.

Delaware, Annapolis and Finally to D.C.

Today the road was righteous. For the first time in weeks the temperatures dipped below 80. I had to tuck myself into my riding jacket, zippers all the way up, in order to keep from shivering; I had forgotten what it was like to get cold on the back of my bike. The air was clean and the clouds stayed high and loose, no threat of rain today.

I traversed the width of Delaware from Lewes on the coast crossing into Maryland near Denton. I stopped for lunch there, taking in the small townedness of the place. On through Maryland I crossed over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and took a short detour through Annapolis. I just rode through though, I love D.C. and I was anxious to just get there and wander around.

Maryland WW2 Memorial

Maryland WWII Memorial, Annapolis in The Background

About 50 miles from D.C., highway 50 smells like flowers; it’s surprising and lovely to smell flowers on a road that feels like the interstate. The traffic in D.C. was as bad as I had been told it would be, but the mild temperatures made it totally bearable. I checked in to the Hostelling International downtown and walked down to The National Mall.

Washington Monument

Washington Monument

Me in front of the washingon monument

... Now With Rabbits

World War 2 memorial

World War 2 Memorial

World War 2 Memorial

More Memorial Love

The 4th of July celebration preparations are in full swing, and the big grassy mall is covered in festival tents, chain link fencing and porta-potties. I walked past the Washington monument, White House, WW-II memorial, Vietnam and Korean war memorials, the Lincoln memorial and finally down to The Potomac River. From there I made my way out to Georgetown for dinner.

Watergate Hotel

Watergate Hotel

I’ve never wandered through the neighborhoods north of M street in Georgetown, so as the sun set I strolled among the historic houses and churches in this beautiful area. Heading out East I wandered down embassy row on Massachusetts Ave.. Finally, on a recommendation from a local I ended up at The Brickskeller Inn for a couple of pints.

Georgetown

Georgetown House

I never thought I’d like it in D.C.. When I first came here a few years ago, I expected that I’d only want to see the monuments and museums and then be done with the place. Like most Americans, I’m distrustful of politicians. I see most of them as choking on wads of cash shoved in their throats by greasy would be world puppeteers. Many of them are like bad commercial actors, selling the American public buckets of shit and telling them that they are pint glasses full of the American Dream. Seriously, politicians strike me as rich kids who were juuuust slightly too ugly to go to Hollywood to become soap opera actors. Sell outs.

Tonight, over a pint of beer, I shared a conversation with a Congresswoman from California who tried to change my opinion of politicians. I’ll tell you this, members of Congress work very hard doing an almost impossible job. Politics is the socialization of conflict, and the best you can hope for is to have your entire constituency only mildly irritated with you. They are trying to distribute a very small amount of water across too many cups. Come to think of it, maybe it’s not the politicians that I despise so much; rather, a political system where the citizenry, rather than trying to find common ground with their adversary, spend their time and money trying to claw out their own piece of the pie. Why, ultimately, do we leave it to politicians to socialize our conflicts? Are we children who don’t know how to share toys?

It’s no wonder that politicians come off looking sleazy, they spend their days surrounded by influence jockeys who represent their own little special interest pony and use every dirty trick in their repertoire to out-position the other riders. When you work in a sludge factory, I guess you’re bound to end up splattered. But those same lobbyists are an outgrowth of every one of us; we are all not only a part of the system, we create the system. When we complain about what politicians are doing, maybe we should take a closer look at our own narrow minded and childish selfishness. Maybe we should look at the conflict we’re creating and see our adversaries as ourselves. We are our adversaries. I’m digressing; this is a topic for another blog.

A woman I met tonight said, “You can live in D.C. and never even know that politics is happening.” She was referring to all of the culture and beauty that exists here. It is these things that I love about D.C.. The museums, the architecture, the history, the bars and restaurants. I have no experience with the music scene here though, maybe tomorrow I’ll head up to U street and see what is happening.

I’m sunburned, dehydrated and a bit drunk. I don’t have to ride tomorrow, so I think I’ll sleep in. I’ve done the tourist thing in D.C. a few times before, so I think tomorrow I’ll stay away from the mall and head north into the neighborhoods.

One Response to “Delaware, Annapolis and Finally to D.C.”

  1. Hey Rabbit it was great to meet you here in Boston at East Coast Motors. I’ve got something coming for you later today, a little video unfortunately I lost the interview with you when I was cleaning out my iPhoto 😦

    http://christopher-king.blogspot.com/2010/07/kingcast-and-dieter-say-welcome-to.html

    Thank goodness I have some stills though so I’ll talk you up in a voiceover.
    Peace,
    C


Leave a Reply

